Home >> About Us >> Meet The Minister

Meet The Minister

Hon'ble Minister

Smt. Maneka Sanjay Gandhi

Maneka Sanjay Gandhi

Constituency :
Pilibhit (Uttar Pradesh)
Party :
Bharatiya Janata Party
Father's Name :
Late Lt. Col. T.S. Anand
Mother's Name :
Late Smt. Amteshwar Anand
Date of Birth :
Sunday, August 26, 1956
Birth Place :
New Delhi
Marital Status :
Date of Marriage :
September 29, 1974
Spouse Name :
Late Shri Sanjay Gandhi
No. of children :
State Name :
Uttar Pradesh
Permanent Address :
14, Ashoka Road, New Delhi - 110 001 Tels. (011) 23359241, 23357088, 9868180604, 9013180192 (M)
Present Address :
14, Ashoka Road,New Delhi - 110 001 Tels. (011) 23359241, 23357088, 9868180604, 9013180192 (M)
Email Id :
Education Qualifications :
Profession :

Positions Held:

1988 - 89
General - Secretary, Janata Dal (J.D.)
Elected to 9th Lok Sabha
1989 - 91
Union Minister of State( Independent Charge), Environment and Forests
Jan. - April 1990
Union Minister of State (Independent Charge), Programme Implementation
Re -elected to 11th Lok Sabha (2nd term)
1996 - 97
Member, Committee on Science and Technology, Environment and Forests
1998 - 99
Re-elected to 12th Lok Sabha (3rd term)
1998 - 99
Union Minister of State (Independent Charge) Social Justice and Empowerment
Re-elected to 13th Lok Sabha (4th term)
13 Oct. 1999-1 Sept. 2001
Union Minister of State,(Independent Charge) Social Justice and Empowerment
1 Sept. 2001 -18 Nov. 2001
Union Minister of State, Culture with additional charge of Animal Care (Independent Charge)
18 Nov.2001-30 June 2002
Programme Implementation and Statistics with additional charge of Animal Care
Member, Committee on External Affairs
Re-elected to 14th Lok Sabha ( 5th term) Member, Committee on Health & Family Welfare Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Environment and Forests
5 Aug. 2007
Member, Committee on Health & Family Welfare
Re-elected to 15th Lok Sabha (6th term)
31 Aug. 2009
Member, Committee on Railways
23 Sep. 2009
Chairperson, Committee on Government Assurances
19 Oct. 2009
Member, General Purposes Committee
Re-elected to 16th LokSabha (7th term)
26 May 2014
Union Minister of Women & Child Development

Book Published: (i) Sanjay Gandhi, (ii) The Rainbow and Other Stories; (iii) 1001 Animal Quiz, (iv) Penguin Book of Hindu Names; (v) Complete Book of Parsi and Muslim Names; (vi) Brahma`s Hair, (vii) Heads and Tails; (viii) Animal Laws of India; (ix) First Aid for Animals; (x) Natural Health for Your Dog; (xi) Wise and Wonderful Animal Alphabet Quiz (xii) Fish Quiz (xiii) Bird Quiz and (xiv) Insect Quiz

Literary Artistic & Scientific Accomplishments : Publisher/author of Etymological Directories; Plant Mythology; Animal Activism and Laws; Editor, Surya, 1976-80; widely read columnist: writer on animal welfare and environment; creator and presenter of weekly T.V. shows on animals and environment in English and Hindi

Social and Cultural Activities : Chairperson,(i) People for Animals; (ii) RUGMARK; Managing-Trustee,Ruth Cowell Foundation (Sanjay Gandhi Animal Care Shelter and Hospital) Writing, animal welfare and protection

Favourite Pastimes and Recreation : Reading and gardening

Countries Visited : Widely travelled

Other Information : Recipient of the prestigious (i) Lord Erskine Award from the RSPCA, 1992; (ii) Environmentalist and Vegetarian of the year 1994; (iii) Prani Mitra Award, 1996; (iv) Maharana Mewar Foundation Award, 1996 for Environmental work; (v) Marchig Animal Welfare Trust Prize, Switzerland, 1997;(vi) Venu Menon Animal Allies Foundation Lifetime Achievement Award, 1999, (vii) Bhagwan Mahaveer Foundation Award for Excellence in the sphere of Truth, Non-violence and Vegetarianism, 1999; (viii) Ahimsa and Sadbhawna Award, 1999; (ix) Dewaliben Charita ble Trust Award, 1999; (x) International Women’s Association Woman of the Year Award, Chennai, 2001 and (xi) Dinanath Mangeshkar Aadishakti Puraskar in the field of Environment and animal welfare, 2001; Delivered the Schumacher Address in U.K., 1995; Key-note Speaker at the National Alliance for Animals in Washington, 1996; Member of 5 person (UNEP) ASAKAWA Environment Prize Selection Committee; Special Invitee to Peace in Peacetime, International Conference on Peace and Development, Puerto Rico, 2002; Chairperson,International Jury of Energy Globe